Health and Wellness

Oldie but Gooder?

Its amazing how head congestion can affect the ability to think, thus the gap in posts. This sinus infection had stubbornly refused to give up its hold up to the very end of my course of antibiotics . After a few days of improvement I had awoke to severe pressure from my brow all the way down to my teeth on my left side and it continued for several more days. It felt as though if I didn’t hold my face it would simply fall right off. Ugh! For someone who is never sick this completely made up for it. Point proven, no need to press it further universe – I concede.

Growing up was a different story.   I seemed to always be sick.  Colds, flus, strep throat – you name it.  In addition, my family – all of us susceptible to seasonal allergies – would end up with sinus infections every year. And every year my mom would make appointments for all of us to going to our Ear, Nose and Throat doctor. I forget his name, and it really doesn’t matter now because he has long since retired and very likely also passed away.  But walking into his office was like walking into a Norman Rockwell picture.  Complete with checkered linoleum tiled floors, 1950’s couches and lamps and a very distinct smell of antiseptic that would hit you upon entering.  The doctor himself even sported the long white coat with his name embroidered onto it and the long since obsolete head reflector.  Even for me, a child in the 1980’s, understood that I was walking into a time machine taking me back 3 decades.  Along with the surroundings, his methods to combat a sinus infection were also antiquated.  But there was a reason we went back every year – they worked!  He’d roll up to you on his wheeled stool with a black vinyl cushion, head reflector in place and a tongue depressor in hand for the initial examination and without saying much else dip into one of the many glass jars for a wad of cotton that he would then dunk into a solution that I imagine consisted of eucalyptus oil, camphor and Mentholatum and without further ado shove it up into you nose as far as it could go.  It would be repeated again for the second nostril and both ears.  The nurse would then lead you into another room and direct you to lay on a table,  on one side,  lay a moist cloth across your eyes and then roll 2 heat lamps over, placing one above your ear and the other toward your forehead.  She’d hand you a big box of tissue and leave to let all the goop and goo to start melting away.   Halfway through she’d come back in to turn you over to the other side. It wasn’t a pretty site.  By the end of it I had always sneezed out the cotton from my nose, filled up the trash can with used tissue and I’d walk out of that office with eyes watering, but with significantly less sinus pressure.   And no antibiotics.  It may have been an old fashioned cure – and a distinct form of torture in the eyes of a 10 year old – but it worked.

This time, finally after 10 days of antibiotics, I am feeling completely myself again.  K and I are heading out to a lower elevation hike today on Stansbury Island at the Great Salt Lake, which is about 45 minutes west from here.  There is still snow in our surrounding mountains so most of our favorite trails are not an option yet.  We haven’t done this hike before, though we though we had and it resulted in disastrous but memorable day.  More on that in a later post.  I haven’t done much in the way of knitting being that my brain was in a congestion fog and I didn’t trust myself with the needles.  But I’m feeling the call of the yarn again so will have an update on my T-Shell project soon.

Happy Sunday!

Comments and Feedback Always Welcome!

